Skip to content

Autumn this year

October 4, 2010

My chickens have started laying. I opened the lid of their house with great expectation this morning and was not disappointed – a small, buff, tapering egg lying there in the sawdust of the nest box. Good old Thelma and Louise.

Life is pretty good right now, and not just because of the little backyard bantams. I’ve been away in Kyrgyzstan for a month, climbing mountains and sampling the local cuisine. Smoked horse and fresh naan bread were highlights, fermented mares milk and horse fat/gristle sausage a particular low. I’ve been mushrooming in the New Forest, discovering the proud parasol, the coral like cauliflower fungus, the diminutive but fascinating hedgehog mushroom and the substantial and abundant bay boletes. Obviously, I’ve been frying them with bacon and eating with relish. I’ve been back in the bakery, pleased to be back with the familiar feeling of dough between my hands and pleased to be washing flour from my hair at the end of the day.

I’ve eaten out a bit more than I can afford: a shockingly bad meal at Cafe Maitreya and a superb one at the Three Coqs Brasserie to make up for it. I’ve been making jam and chutney and jars are jammed into every space on the kitchen shelves, with more planned – rosehip syrup this evening, sloe gin tomorrow, rowan jelly and apple butter when I find time, and quince cheese on wednesday. I feel like a WI lady preparing for a long winter.

I’ve been writing too, not on this blog (apologies) but for real magazines that are printed on paper, and I’m loving every second of it.

And I’ve been dreaming, oh yes, I’ve been dreaming. This month I’ve mostly been thinking about the next supper club date, about substantial charcuterie I’m going to tackle this autumn, about a larder to stack my jam jars in, and about the restaurant I want to open in a few years. In fact, I’ve been dreaming a lot about that last one. Menus, tables, paint, opening hours, it’s all planned out.

So that’s what I’ve been up to, and what I’ve been thinking about, and why I haven’t done any writing on here. So sorry. Tomorrow, I’ll have details of the next Southville Supper Club. It’ll be the best yet, if my dreams can become a reality.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anon permalink
    October 4, 2010 19:01

    Ah, good. Your words are back.

    More please.

Leave a Reply

